boringvsfunny

Which side of me will win?

Metalcamp 2011: An introduction

Right, I promised myself I’d starting blogging again so as to report on the ever-so exciting holiday I went on last week, and if I don’t bother starting tonight I’ll probably never bother starting. But this is going to be a quick one, as it’s getting a bit late already and I’m still fucking tired, having only got home less than 24 hours ago.

So anyway, Metalcamp: what is it?

It’s the best heavy metal festival in the world ever. That’s what.

Now, I haven’t been to every one of Planet Earth’s numerous metal fests, but I reckon that between me and every single person I’ve met or even merely overheard at Metalcamp, we must’ve attended pretty much the whole lot. And I have never, I promise you, heard anyone say that any other festival was better than Metalcamp. It’s just the best.

Now, maybe you’ve checked out this year’s Metalcamp line-up, or that of any other year and thought it was alright, but there’s not enough of this or too much of that and Hellfest or Wacken or Graspop or whatever has a lot of the same bands and more, or that it’s too far to travel or whatever. But you’re thinking about it in the wrong way. The only valid measure of the quality of a festival is how much you enjoy the time you spend there, and that’s why Metalcamp wins.

I can’t easily sum up why people have the best time at Metalcamp, so instead I’m going to write a series of blogs about my experiences there this year, in the hope that a sense of how awesome it is comes through naturally. If it doesn’t, then fuck it. I’m not Metalcamp’s PR guy or anything. I just like telling stories.

Now, as I said above, I can’t really be fucked to begin in earnest tonight, but I promise I’ll get it done over the next few weeks and that I won’t just give up halfway through like I usually do when I set out to write a series of blogs.

Now do fuck off, I’m tired.

Filed under: Metalcamp, , , ,

Leave a Reply

